2018 FEMMY Gala Recap

2018 FEMMY Gala Recap

The excitement was overwhelming throughout the night as 600 of the intimate apparel industry’s leaders gathered for the 2018 FEMMY AWARDS, held at Cipriani 42nd Street on Tuesday, February 6th, hosted by Glamour-evangelist™, Dita Von Teese. Sponsored by The Underfashion Club, the premiere intimate apparel 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, the FEMMY Awards promote industry and student education. The event broke previous records for money raised.

Host Dita Von Teese dazzled the audience in a glamorous dress by designer Ulyana Sergeenko, while she “strip teased” when any bloopers were made. Dita said, “I have always had a passion for lingerie and it has been a major part of my life and career. It is an honor to be the host of the 2018 FEMMY Awards and celebrate the industry’s achievements.”

2018 FEMMY Gala Recap

The crowd gave an electric and enthusiastic standing ovation to Donald R. Allen, Jr., Vice President, Design & Innovation, The Underwear Group, PVH Corp., who received the Lifetime Achievement Award. Allen shared, “To receive the Lifetime Achievement Award is a great honor. Now, as an elder of the industry, if I had to impart any wisdom, I would stress collaboration — it really does take a village to make a bra! I sincerely thank you all for this career, this journey, and this prestigious award- it means more than you will ever know.”

The FEMMY Honorees included Retailer Award: Target accepted by Marybeth Moser, VP DMM Intimates, Performance, Swim and Heather Fryxell, Director of Women’s Intimates; Manufacturer Award: Komar Intimates, accepted by Denny Gedney, President; Supplier Award: Texco Hook & Eye Tape Ltd., accepted by Tommy Fung, Chariman, Texco Group; Diamond Jubilee: LYCRA® brand, accepted by Bob Kirkwood, EVP, Marketing & Technology INVISTA.

2018 FEMMY Gala Recap

Debby Gedney, president of Komar Intimates, who accepted the Manufacturer Award said, “The mission statement of the Underfashion Club is to raise funds and expend energy to safeguard the present and future heath of the Intimate Apparel industry. As I look out at his gathering of smart and committed industry members, the amazing young people involved in tonight’s design contest, and the talented young people that inspire me daily at Komar, I think the future is very bright!”

A special tribute video was created in memory of Eileen West, known for her elevated women’s leisure style with her signature sleepwear. She was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award at the Intimate Apparel Industry’s annual FEMMY Gala in 2005. Charlie Komar, president of Komar Brands, presented the UFC with the $150,000 Eileen West Scholarship, one of the largest scholarships in the organization’s history.

2018 FEMMY Gala Recap

The Fashion Institute of Technology Design Contest

Six F.I.T. student finalists competing for top design unveiled their body of work to present an ornate display of intimate apparel gowns and sets. The works were seen by many of the lingerie industry’s best and reviewed by a panel nominated from The Underfashion Club. Students drew inspiration from the “60 Years of Intimate Apparel Design” theme.

The top three winners of the 2018 Student Design Contest were awarded scholarships presented by SAIG Co-Chairs Suzanne Beck and Clelia Parisi. The first prize winner is Bianca Jeffs for her “Street Level” design; her winnings include a cash award of $5,000 and an all-expenses paid trip to July’s Mode City Paris Show courtesy of Eurovet/Curvexpo. Second price winner, Alicia French won for “Glamour Et Minuit” and received a cash award of $4,000. Third prize went to Norissa White-Isaacs for “Blooming Lillies” with a cash award of $3,000. Finalists (each received $1,000 cash award): Alana Fox, Nicolette Leslie, Eunsaem Nam. Design contest sponsors: Clover Group International Ltd., Regina Miracle International Ltd. and Stretchline Holdings Ltd.

“The FEMMY Awards is the largest industry event and an essential part of our efforts to support the future of the industry by raising funds to promote education, innovation and growth within the Intimate Apparel Industry. Congratulations to the 2018 winners who joined us in these efforts,” said Victor H. Vega, President of The Underfashion Club. One of the most poignant parts of the evening was the announcement by Vega that this would be his last FEMMY as president of the board after serving for five years. Under Vega’s leadership, The Underfashion Club has reached new heights of success and engagement with the creation of a dynamic board, expanded scholarship program, and increased participating schools.

About The Underfashion Club
The Underfashion Club is a not-for-profit 501 (c) (3) charitable organization established to provide Intimate Apparel Industry leaders with a forum to exchange information and ideas, and support the Intimate Apparel market as a vital aspect of the fashion industry through its ongoing commitment to support the education of new talent.

Comments are closed.

Find TLJ on Social Media